Missouri License Plate Information Summary
You'll get new Missouri license plates when you first register your vehicle with the Department of Revenue. You'll keep your plates up to date when you register your vehicle. You can transfer your Missouri license plates from an older vehicle you sell to a new vehicle you purchase.
Missouri License Plates Offered
The Missouri Department of Revenue offers standard plates, military plates, vanity plates, disability plates, and plates that honor organizations. Contact the DOR to review your Missouri license plate options.
You'll also get a color-coded sticker that lets law enforcement know if your plates are up to date.
A dealership can provide you with a temporary license plate until you get your new plates. It will be valid for 30 days.
If you buy your vehicle in a private sale, you should go that day to the DOR office and get new plates. If for some reason you do not want to do that ,you can go to the DOR office and get temporary plates.
For this, you'll need to get your vehicle inspected and pass. You'll also need a copy of your insurance, the title signed over to you, a bill of sale, a $3.50 processing fee, and a $5 permit fee.
In general, simply getting new plates is far easier!
When You Need To Get Missouri License Plates
You need to get Missouri license plates 30 days after you move to the state. If you have temporary plates, you have 30 days to get official license plates.
Keeping Your License Plates Up To Date
You will receive a notice when it's time to renew your license plates and registration. Even if you don't get a reminder, keep in mind when you last registered your vehicle and get it re-registered and a new sticker for your plates.
If Your Missouri License Plates Are Stolen
If your plates are stolen, you must go to your local police station and file a report. Once that happens, new license plates and stickers will be free. You'll simply have to go to the DOR office and apply for them.
If your license plate is damaged you need to go to the DOR office and pay for new plates and tags. You will be charged a processing fee of $3.50, $8.50 for damaged plates, and another $8.50 for damaged stickers.
Transferring Or Surrendering Your License Plates
You can transfer your old Missouri license plates to a new vehicle simply by paying a $2 fee.
You only need to surrender your plates if you move to another state. You can also simply destroy and recycle them.
Missouri License Plate Costs
For every transaction with the DOR, you have to pay a $3.50 processing fee.
In addition to that, you'll have to pay for the plates themselves.
For passenger cars this price varies widely and you should contact the DOR to find out how much you will pay.
- For motorcycles the price is $8.75.
- For three wheelers it is $10.25. For RVs it is $32.50.
- For trailers it is $7.50.