SOUTH DAKOTA LICENSE PLATE SEARCH

Enter Any License Plate Number

(Do not enter spaces or dashes)

South Dakota License Plate Information Summary

Your local County Treasurer's office is where you'll register your new vehicle and buy your South Dakota license plates. You can transfer them whenever you buy a newer vehicle. You'll also get a validation sticker to help law enforcement know your license plates are up to date and valid.

South Dakota License Plates Offered

South Carolina offers standard, disability, vanity, and special interest plates. Contact the South Dakota DMV to get a full list of all of your options.

You'll also get a sticker that you must place in the bottom right-hand corner of your plate.

You'll need two South Dakota license plates – for the front and back of your vehicle – unless you drive a motorcycle, in which case you just need a rear license plate.

If you buy your vehicle from a dealership, they will give you temporary South Dakota license plates that are good for 30 days. If you buy in a private sale, the seller will give you a special permit that also gives you 30 days to register your vehicle.

When You Need To Get South Dakota License Plates

You need to apply for South Dakota license plates within 90 days of moving to the state, and 30 days of purchasing a vehicle.

Keeping Your License Plates Up To Date

You should get a renewal reminder notice in the mail about your license plates. If you don't, look at your stickers to figure out when they need to be renewed.

You'll get a new sticker when you renew your plates.

You can renew your South Dakota license plates online, in person, or through the mail.

If Your South Dakota License Plates Are Stolen

If your plates are stolen or damaged, you must file a police report with your local officers.

You can replace them in person at a DMV office or through the mail. You'll have to bring or include in your mailing the report from the police, your registration card, plus $10 for plates and $2 for any replacement stickers.

Transferring Or Surrendering Your License Plates

You can surrender your plates to the DMV if you are not going to use them, but you are under no obligation to do so.

You can transfer your plates – if they are up to date – from one vehicle to another. You can also transfer your plates to an immediate family member such as a spouse or child.

South Dakota License Plate Costs

South Dakota license plate prices vary quite a bit. You should contact your County Treasurer's office to find out what you can expect to pay.

Sample South Dakota License Plate


DMV Offices In South Dakota

Note: VehicleHistory.com offers vehicle record searches by License Number Plate and VIN number. Results vary depending on state. Not all states have available owner information. Complete license plate and VIN numbers are required to obtain results. Please verify any
information obtained as there are occasional inaccuracies.

Feedback Report Bug