Tennessee License Plate Information Summary
Go to your County Clerk's office to get your first license plates and register your first vehicle. After that, you can transfer your Tennessee license plates to a newer vehicle. You will also get three stickers to attach to your vehicle.
Tennessee License Plates Offered
The Tennessee Department of Revenue (DOR) offers standard plates, disability plates, vanity plates, and plates that support various causes. Check with the DOR to find out what specialty plates you can get.
You will also get three stickers denoting your county, the month your Tennessee license plates expire, and the year they expire.
Your dealership can arrange for you to get temporary Tennessee license plates for $5.50. They are good for 30 days.
When You Need To Get Tennessee License Plates
You need to get Tennessee license plates the day you move to the state. You also need to get them the day you purchase a vehicle – unless you get the vehicle from a dealership.
Keeping Your License Plates Up To Date
You can renew your Tennessee license plates online, by mail, or in person. Look at the tags on your vehicle to determine when you need to do this.
If Your Tennessee License Plates Are Stolen
Should your Tennessee license plates be stolen or damaged, you must report it to local law enforcement.
Then bring a copy of that police report, plus the application for a duplicate license plate, which must be notarized; your registration, and $11.75 for the new plates.
New stickers are free.
Transferring Or Surrendering Your License Plates
You only have to surrender your plate if you are replacing it with a vanity or specialty plate.
You can transfer your plates to a new vehicle by paying the $1 transfer fee.
Tennessee License Plate Costs
Tennessee license plate costs vary quite a bit. Contact your County Clerk to find out what you will have to pay.